SuperFlair 2011

The sixth annual SuperFlair flair bartending competition was held in Windsor Ontario, from May 22-24 2011. SuperFlair has been one of the biggest flair bartending competitions in Canada for many years, and this year was no exception. As part of the FBA Pro Tour, there was over $11,000 in cash and prizes up for grabs. With such a large prize pool, SuperFlair always attracts the best flair bartenders from around the world. Past winners have included world champions such as Danilo Oribe from Uruguay, and Christian and Rodrigo Delpech from Argentina.

This year saw a large group from the Toronto Flair League travel down Highway 401 to compete in both the Advanced, and Pro divisions. Arriving on Sunday, the competitors checked into the Windsor Radisson, and met at one of the host venues, the Dugout Sports Bar and Grill. There they all checked in, and proceeded to partake in rounds of shots in true SuperFlair fashion.

Monday saw qualifying rounds for both Advanced and Pro bartenders. During her round, Shay Court of the TFL had some technical difficulties as her music stopped only 1 minute into her round. Unfazed, she managed to complete her round with only one drop. Other notable TFL Advanced level competitors were Dustin Costain, Zarmig Sarkissian, Amanda McCormick, and Mark Broad. Making their way through the qualifying rounds on Monday, and competing in the finals later on that evening were Ian Manu, Corey Ludwig, Colby Good, Mark Broad, and Dustin Costain.

The Pro division qualifiers were also held on Monday afternoon. Making it through to the finals on Tuesday evening were Kris Perez, David Jennings and Zack Prohaska of the Toronto Flair League, Ryan “Twatch” Sturing from Detroit, and a large Vegas team consisting of James Sordahl, Joe Dormani, Eric Parker, David “Ginge” Reynolds, and defending champion, Danilo Oribe. The advanced finals were held at the Dugout Sports Bar and Grill on Monday night.

After five very solid performances, the winners were announced.

Coming in 5th place from Windsor Ontario, Ian Manu, 4th place went to Mark Broad also from Windsor. 3rd place went to Colby Good from Green Bay, 2nd place went to Corey Ludwig of Cincinnati, and the 2011 SuperFlair Advanced champion is Dustin “Flair Bear” Costain of the Toronto Flair League, who took in the $500 prize. Tuesday saw the Pro finals held at the Boom Boom Room with over $11,000 up for grabs. All competitors had great shows and kept the sell out crowd on their feet during the entire show.

David Reynolds performed a near flawless routine that seemed impossible to defeat, even by the defending champion. Coming in 9th place taking home $500 was David Jennings of BartenderOne and the Toronto Flair League, 8th place and $500 went to Ryan “Twatch” Sturing, 7th place and a prize of $500 went to Kris Perez of the TFL. Also from the TFL, Zack Prohaska took home $750 for finishing 6th, followed by 5th place James Sordahl of Las Vegas who brought in $750. Taking home $1000 for finishing 4th was Joe Dormani originally from Brooklyn NY who placed a mere few points behind Eric Parker of Las Vegas who also won $1000 for placing 3rd. $2000 in prize money went to David “Ginge” Reynolds for finishing second, and the back to back SuperFlair Champion Danilo Oribe received $3000 for 1st place and putting on the most amazing live show I’ve seen to date.

Congratulations to all of the flair bartenders who competed at SuperFlair and thanks to the gracious hosts at Behind The Wood, the Dugout, and the Boom Boom Room who continue to host the bestflair bartending competition in the country.

For information on how to become a bartender in Toronto, or how to become a flair bartender in Toronto, contact BartenderOne and the Toronto Flair League.
Until next time, keep flipping!

This entry was posted in Flair Bartending and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.